Tags

Yesterday, I took my dog, Pickles, to the vet. My mind was focused on Pickles and her health. When the vet asked how things in education were going I gave a quick response, “Not so great, but hopefully getting better.”

The vet assured me that Pickles would be ok and then he proceeded to give me his input on education. Perhaps because he knew I was from the Bronx, he started with a quote from the movie Bronx Tale, “The saddest thing in life is a waste of talent.”

He went on to explain the real shame in education is that test scores are defining our children and their teachers. The true talents of the children and their teachers are lost. Everyone simply becomes a number. He questioned, “And who even knows what that number represents?”

He shared with me that he didn’t do well on tests. Here is a vet that I have trusted with my dog’s life for 11 years. I never bothered to ask to see his scores. Come to think of it, I don’t know the scores of the doctor that takes care of my children.

FB:  https://www.facebook.com/groups/lacetothetop/

Twitter: @lacetothetop

Image

